Life Is Strange

LIS
Photo credit to Steam

It is, indeed. But I’m here to talk about the video game I’ve been hooked on recently. Life Is Strange is a five episode adventure game*, where you play as a high school senior named Max. It’s set in “Arcadia Bay”, Oregon, where she attends a boarding school called Blackwell Academy. You’re brought along her journey as she works to unravel some of the mysteries surrounding her town and classmates. Oh, and she discovers she has the ability to rewind bits of time. Who hasn’t wished for a couple of redos in life?

You’re forced to make some difficult choices, as well as some seemingly innocent ones. It’s all about the butterfly effect, and I’ve already felt massive regret for some of the decisions I’ve made way back in the first episode (I’m currently on episode 3). It really makes you wonder about the effects of your own life choices. I’m sure there are a number of detailed reviews out there to sift through, so I’ll spare you my own. I will say, though, that I do believe it’s worth a try.

What particularly struck me about this game, and what I really wanted to write about, is its OST. I’m a firm believer that music often dictates the way we should/do feel about our environment, and the music here leaves you with all kinds of feels. Namely, the one I felt was nostalgia. Maybe it’s because of all the streaming sunlight (search “komorebi“). Maybe it’s because I have a fond, old connection to the Pacific Northwest. Maybe it’s because I miss high school. No matter the reason, the soundtrack did an impeccable job at setting the mood to make for a truly immersive experience.

I particularly enjoyed the instrumental pieces towards the latter part of the OST, starting at around 58:45, but the entire thing is a joy to listen to. Cue lying in bed, whilst watching the ceiling fan blades revolve:

*These are essentially like those choose-your-own-adventure books. The choices you make affect and alter your outcomes down the road. Another favorite of mine, in this genre, is Wolf Among Us.

One thought on “Life Is Strange

Leave a Reply

