The Changing Seasons: January & February

the-changing-seasons_16-2-24
The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

As mentioned in my final Blogging 101 post, I’ve joined a monthly challenge called The Changing Seasons (V2). I’m hoping to post a photo on the last Wednesday of every month. I don’t have any overarching theme in mind, so we’ll see what this project eventually evolves into!

IMG_2387
By RIH

I missed posting for the month of January, but I wanted to share a photo for it anyway. I’ve always felt slightly bitter about this month, despite its promises of change and a fresh start. I adore the holidays, and the New Year always seems to mark its inevitable end. Every year, I hold onto the sentiments of the holidays for as long as socially acceptable (it’s still okay to have my Christmas tree up, right..?). I felt elated, and then immediately a bit sad, when I found this lone string of lights hanging from a tree in a local park. You’ll come back into focus in 10 months, my friend.

IMG_2404
By RIH

February. The month of reds and pinks and hearts, oh my! Although I have nothing against Valentine’s Day, I think it often overshadows the anticipation of that other thing we’re waiting for: spring. Punxsutawney Phil didn’t see his shadow on Groundhog Day, which means we shan’t be needing our coats for much longer (non-North Americans, I swear we’re not crazy). I visited a greenhouse for this photo. I really enjoyed the contrast between the dark, cool-toned forefront and the bright, warm-toned background; the frigid cold outside and the warmth of spring inside. I thought it was similar to February, foreshadowing of warmer days amidst the still-winter ones. I might be a romantic after all.

5 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: January & February

  1. Nice musings, I like the way your mind wanders and I like your Christmas light image too. It will be interesting to see your world this year. BTW have you linked this to the Cardinal’s site? Others might not come across it if you haven’t. And it is really nice to visit everyone once a month 🙂
    Jude xx

    Good luck with the blogging and writing! And importantly, have fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have yet to watch that movie! I’ve heard good things, and it’s on my Netflix list. Yup, I’m definitely looking forward to seeing more color in everyone’s photos as spring creeps around!

      Like

Leave a Reply

