Blogging 101: Zero to Hero III

For first-timers stopping by my blog: welcome! I am currently participating in a course offered by WordPress’s Blogging University called Blogging 101: Zero to Hero. Each weekday, I’ll be writing based off of an assignment posted for the class. 

SPOILER ALERT: I just realized that there’s another Blogging 101 course going on that started a couple weeks after mine did (I was a bit of a slacker and have been behind). If you’d like to keep the rest of your days’ assignments a surprise, read no further!

Day Twelve: Increase Your Commenting Confidence
Today’s task: read six posts written in response to the same prompt, and leave comments on at least two of them.
I got a bit carried away with this one. I kept going from one click to the next, reading through a wide range of perspectives from freshly independent students to parents with children of their own. It was really interesting to see how the idea of “grown up” can morph as one grows older. I wrote brief comments in parentheses by the blogs I left comments on.
THE [BERLIN] BOOK
Am I a Geek?
The World’s a Fire
Me-Who Am I?
Kosher Adobo
Julie Powell
tylershepard1991
Pepper Connection (this post was bittersweet, and it made me think about the evolution of parent-child relationships)
What Does Nelkumi Think? (this post had a refreshing interpretation of growing up)
The Jittery Goat

Day Thirteen: Try (Another) Blogging Event
Today’s task: pick a blogging event from the Community Event Listings, and participate in the next round.
I felt an instant connection with “The Changing Seasons” challenge by Cardinal Guzman. I liked the idea of being able to reflect back on the month through photographs. Unfortunately, I missed the window for January, but I’ve still got 11 months left in the year! I might actually dig through my photos from January and post something I think is representative of that month. Please let me know if you’re interested in the event, as I’d love to follow your progress! I’ll be following the V2 rules:

1) Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons.
2) Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
3) Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

Day Fourteen: Extend Your Brand
Today’s task: extend your brand with one of the following: a custom site icon, a custom image widget, or a fan page.
I’m excited about putting up a custom site icon. I’m still in the process of figuring out which photo I want to use for it, though, so I’ll call this a work-in-progress.

Day Fifteen: Create a New Posting Feature
Today’s task: develop a regular feature for your blog.
I’d like to create Weekly Wednesday, starting with today! I thought about doing a weekly post with a specific theme (e.g. Photo Friday, Science Sunday, etc.), but I think I’d like to start out with a broader goal first. I’ll be doing my best to post at least once a week, every Wednesday.

And that, my friends, concludes my very first blogging course. I’ve learned and grown a lot as a blogger through completing each assignment with my fellow Blogging U peers. I experimented with things and browsed through parts of the blogging world I likely wouldn’t have done on my own. I was a bit sad for the experience to be over; so much so, that I actually went ahead and signed up for another course that begins in March. I hope to see some familiar faces (icons?) over there as well!

7 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Zero to Hero III

  1. Thank you for linking to my blog. I had completely forgotten about that post. It’s fun to read over old posts and I enjoyed reading the reply to the prompt you had written the other day. Are we ever grown up? Maybe one day I can fully claim grown up status, but that’s certainly not today. This is a great summary of Blogging 101. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and excitement with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

