Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal

For first-timers stopping by my blog: welcome! I am currently participating in a course offered by WordPress’s Blogging University called Blogging 101: Zero to Hero. Each weekday, I’ll be writing based off of an assignment posted for the class. 

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a blogging prompt.

I clicked refresh a number of times, and found a couple of prompts from The Daily Post that caught my eye. I settled on All Grown Up, because it had the most responses, by far. It made me curious as to why this prompt was so popular, and I thought I’d try digging up my own answers to its question: when was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

I’m not sure how valid this statement is, coming from a 20-something year old, but I wonder if anyone is ever a grown up. Also, is realizing that one can never fully be “grown up” part of growing up? After all, once you’re old enough to look back at an age with wisdom, the moment has long passed. You’re also your exact age for the first time, every second of every day, so we can’t dictate much about the present. Ah, the irony. The topic has made my head spin on more than one occasion.

I remember parts of my past where I thought to myself, “This is it. This marks the beginning of my grown up years.” Age 13: watching a movie without parent supervision. Grown up. Age 15: getting my permit. Grown up? Age 17: moving away from home and living alone in a dorm. Surely, grown up..? The more I age, the more I question what being a grown up even means.

It’s odd. I feel as though I was surer of things when I was younger. Yes, I know more now, but gaining knowledge and experience has somehow made me skeptical of the things around me, of the opinions I hold, and of who I am. I’m constantly questioning everything, and wondering if this is for the better or for the worse. As I grow older, I catch myself yearning for the seemingly uncomplicated days of youth. Can ignorance be bliss, after all?

But one of the good things I believe I’ve gained from aging (I’m still not sure I can call myself a grown up), is the flexibility. I think you begin to realize things like:
A) Your way is not the only and/or right way.
B) You have undergone a very specific set of experiences that caused you to formulate a certain opinion; these opinions may not always align with those of the people you meet, but they have a right to their opinions, as much as you do to yours.
C) You make plans that are, more often than not, subject to change.
And these are all okay.

I’m not suggesting that I’m zen about everything I’ve listed. These are all things I struggle to come to terms with on a daily basis (ESPECIALLY with C. You should see some of my spreadsheets… Deciphering them probably takes longer than actually doing what they list). Is anyone truly at peace with the knowledge that so much is beyond their control? That we live in a world full of variables and unpredictability? Or perhaps, that’s the fun of it. Perhaps, there will come a day when I can live life simply for the sake of living it, without worries and demands and plans of what life should be. Perhaps then, I will know the answer to what being a grown up means.

f_se7_16.2.15
By RIH

 

5 thoughts on “Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal

  1. For some reason I’ve always had a negative reaction to the term “grown up.” I associate it with seriousness, overwhelming responsibility, and an utter lack of fun, which are things I try to avoid. 🙂 You make some great points about growing up in relation to wisdom and experience. Maybe “maturity” is a better word for this? Also, I think growing as a person is a life long process. Perhaps it’s not possible to ever fully be “grown up.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is very well written. I agree with much of what you said. I too felt less sure of myself and where I was going as I aged, than I did when I was a child. Everything seemed to make since when I was young. Life flowed. Mistakes happened. New thrills were experienced. Then the cycle repeated, but always in the direction of growth and my unknown future. Then, the future came. I became an adult, but with every year I became more and more lost in a world that was familiar, but surprisingly foreign. It’s so strange how we become more confused and uncertain as we age. Like you said, I don’t know if we ever truly grow up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t have said it better: “…more lost in a world that was familiar, but surprisingly foreign.” I still haven’t figured out when the world that’s remained the same became something so different.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

