Blogging 101: Zero to Hero II

For first-timers stopping by my blog: welcome! I am currently participating in a course offered by WordPress’s Blogging University called Blogging 101: Zero to Hero. Each weekday, I’ll be writing based off of an assignment posted for the class. 

I’ve been bad. I meant to post about each assignment throughout the week, but it’s come to writing another one of my SparkNotes versions:

Day Six: Make an Irresistible “About” Page
Today’s assignment: create and publish your About page, then either adapt it into a widget on your home page or add it to your menu.
I’ve already published my “About” page, and it can be found on my menu above. I’m considering adding more information about myself in the future, but I think I’ll keep things anonymous for now.

Day Seven: Keep Personalizing
Today’s assignment: create and upload a simple header, background, or both. Already done? Try a widget.
I’m going to continue playing around with personalization, but I’ve added a new widget for now. There’s a “Follow via Email” button, mainly for my friends/family who don’t have a WordPress account. WordPress users are more than welcome to sign up as well!

Day Eight: Be a Good Neighbor
Today’s assignment: leave comments on at least four blogs that you’ve never commented on before.
I really enjoy these community-related assignments. The number of bloggers I followed used to be a cozy, single digit number, but I’m well on my way to doubling that. I’ve left comments on the following bloggers’ posts:
A Sample of Life from Here on Out
Any Idiot Can Run
Culturetastic
Girlgonefoodie
Journey of a Tired Heart

Day Nine: Get Inspired By the Neighbors
Today’s assignment: write a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday. Don’t forget to link to the other blog!
Work-in-progress

Day Ten: Build a Better Blogroll
Today’s assignment: create a blogroll to share links you love with your readers.
I added a “Posts I Like” widget. Since the widget displays my five most recent “likes”, the links will update and change as time goes on. I liked the idea that this would help readers get a better sense of who I am, as well as help me continue to build that sense of community with readers and fellow bloggers.

Onto the final week of Blogging 101!

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Zero to Hero II

  1. For blogroll, you could also add the widget for latest followers – yours or blogs that you recently followed 🙂 Enjoyed reading your progress on Blogging101. you definitely are a Hero 🙂 All the best 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

